How can I walk with God if I can’t see Him?

Cover of "Desiring God: Meditations of a ...

Cover via Amazon

How do you walk with God when you can’t see Him?

I guess that’s why they call it “faith.”

I just started reading a book titled: “Desiring God” by John Piper. It’s the 25th anniversary reference edition. I must admit I’ve not heard of this author before, much less the earlier title of the same name. It’s turning out to be one of the kinds of reads I enjoy: philosophical and thought-provoking Christian topics that cause one to look inward and consider their own faith journey and relationship with the God we can’t see.

“The heavens proclaim the glory of God. The skies display his craftsmanship. Day after day they continue to speak; night after night they make him known. They speak without a sound or word; their voice is never heard. Yet their message has gone throughout the earth, and their words to all the world.” ~ Psalm 19:1-4 NLT

This verse sort of explains why I can believe in a God who I can’t see, but in whom I believe created life itself. I’m currently watching the Truth Project on DVD in Sunday school. It’s the college version since I’m helping out with the college group at my church. It’s some great stuff that, to me, solidifies my faith in an invisible God. For example: how can one logically and consistently claim that random chance is the only sane explanation in the creation of life, nature and everything we can see in space with what we know about the complexities of the human body, including the digital code that makes up backbone of DNA? I would simply direct the doubters to Louie Giglio’s series where he discusses Laminin.

Back to “Desiring God:” Anyone here who’s read this book is free to comment. I’m looking forward to digging further into Piper’s arguments for being a Christian hedonist, though that term does cause me to pause a bit.

The inside jacket cover has this to say from author John Piper:

“I do not come to the Bible with a hedonistic theory of moral justification. On the contrary, I find in the Bible a divine command to be a pleasure-seeker — that is, to forsake the two-bit, low-yield, short-term, never-satisfying, person-destroying, God-belittling pleasures of the world and to sell everything ‘with joy’ (Matthew 13:44) in order to have the kingdom of heaven and thus ‘enter into the joy of your master’ (Matthew 25:21). In short, I am a Christian Hedonist not for any philosophical or theoretical reason, but because God commands it (though He doesn’t command that you use these labels!)…”

I look forward to chewing my way through this read and seeing how God is going to use this to shape my life. Meanwhile, I’ll keep walking with God, even though I can’t see Him.

Leave a Reply

