Why church is so important

Years ago I could take church or leave it. Now I don’t want to miss it; something’s missing when I do.

I know some people who have that take-it-or-leave-it attitude about church. Even as well-intentioned as they might be, or how they try to justify the idea of a family outing on Sunday instead of church, I think it’s sad because they’re missing out on so much.

I like the way Hebrews 10:25 reads in The Message version: “Let’s see how inventive we can be in encouraging love and helping out, not avoiding worshipping together as some do but spurring each other on, especially as we see the big day approaching.”

Check out Psalm 122:1 “When they said, ‘Let’s go to the house of God’ my heart leaped for joy.”

This was one of the points my pastor made last Sunday in church. In his series on the 10 Commandments he preached on God’s commandment to “observe the Sabbath and keep it holy. You have six days in which to do your work but the seventh day is a day of rest dedicated to me.” Part of that discussion dealt with the idea that, in part, the Sabbath should include time for fellowship with fellow believers; what better place than at church where we’re all united in worshipping God to enjoy the friendly company of others.

Leave a Reply

