How clean are your glasses?

God blesses those who’s hearts are pure, for they will see God.

The thesis of my pastor’s sermon from Matthew 5:7 this morning was simply this: those who’s hearts are impure will NEVER see God. Their eternal destination is therefore not good.

The good news, however, is that we can indeed see God someday if we choose to love God with all our hearts, soul and strength. Implied in that passage, as I see it, is that we practice obedience to God in all we say and do. While this is impossible within our own strength, I believe we can through God, otherwise, His command that we “be holy because I, the Lord your God, am holy” (Lev. 19:2) would be nothing more than a cruel joke.

The challenge to those of us who are Christians is not just to strive for our own personal holiness as an end unto itself, but in a way that points others to Christ. Put another way, our own personal holiness is the lens through which God is seen through us.

I want to liken it to the lenses of eyeglasses. Dirty, fogged or frosted, and they’re not useful at all. You can’t see clearly; in fact, you won’t see through them at all if they’re fogged or frosted. But, cleaned and with the proper focus, you can see clearly through them. I want to be the lens through which others see Christ. I think we all should strive for that.

In the context of biblical purity, our sin is like the filth on the eyeglasses. Anything we do to obscure the view of Christ through us is not helpful if we seek to point others to Christ. Pastor used the illustration of poison to suggest by asking how much poison would it take to pollute a glass of drinking water.

“Tolerance of that which is impure leads to pollution of the soul,” my pastor said. In that context, anything I allow myself to see, say or do that clouds my own relationship with God likewise creates a fog through which others are unable to see God when looking at my life.

The point, as my pastor said, is not for others to see our lives in and of themselves, but for others to see God through our lives; our lives themselves then become invisible and people instead are able to see God through the lens of our faith, good works and obedience to God.

2 thoughts on “How clean are your glasses?

  1. Pingback: Love Makes Obedience « Kevin Nunez

  2. Pingback: I’m Beautiful because God made me | Gratitude is an Attitude!

Leave a Reply

