Authentic Christians are attractive

It’s no secret that I’m a fan of KLOVE radio. The tough part is I have access to its signal only a few hours each day while driving truck. I cherish the time I have to listen to Christian radio and to people I seem to connect with on the air.

The YouTube video here was shared on Amanda Carroll’s blog on KLOVE. I’ve quickly become a fan of hers over the past several months as I’ve listened to this lady share candidly and authentically.

In her latest blog she shares the following:

I’ve been there. I’ve pretended to have everything together… I remember walking into the doors of my church after my former husband had left the family…and pretending like he was just on another business trip.

Because the last place that you should not have it all together is a church… right… no.  Eventually I had the guts to not “fake it” and be honest, and be broken, and get help.

I’ve been there too. I’ve had to explain to people in church why my former wife wasn’t with me in church anymore. It’s hard, especially breaking through the deafening silence that follows their exclamation “oh” after you utter the “D” word in church.

The Bible tells us that God uses our troubles as a means of comforting others. In 2 Corinthians 1:4-5 the Apostle Paul writes:

He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us. For the more we suffer for Christ, the more God will shower us with his comfort through Christ.

I’m learning how to be God’s instrument to comfort others while at the same time accepting His comfort. What a blessing it is!

One thought on “Authentic Christians are attractive

Leave a Reply

