Can it be coincidence?

Description unavailable

Image by raphaelstrada via Flickr

Do you ever have one of those weeks where you hear things on the radio, listen to a sermon and have other things come into your brain that make you wonder…

Is someone orchestrating the stuff I’m hearing?

Is someone trying to get my attention?

What is my response?

It’s been one of those weeks!

As a truck driver I get time to listen to the radio… LOT’S of time! So between Christian radio, talk radio and podcasts downloaded to my iPod there’s never a shortage of stuff to think about because of what I’m listening to. So when I start hearing seemingly random comments in various media that connect a single thought, or funnel my thinking into a single thought, I have to wonder what God is trying to accomplish in my life.

Not the grand notion of personal holiness (that’s God’s obvious goal in my life), but what specific thing does God want to work on in my life. That is the question that pops to mind.

What I’ve learned in following Christ is that these moments require a tangible response that, if not responded to immediately and in the right way, always have consequences beyond the original sin that is prompting these thoughts.

I urge you: if God is speaking to you like this — trust me, you’ll KNOW it when He does — to take the steps God is prompting you to take. The peace you feel after taking these steps will assure you that you did the right thing.

One thought on “Can it be coincidence?

  1. Amen…there are no coincidences with God, and Yes, someone is orchestrating it all. Of course, I’m with you,and have to wonder sometimes if all, or many of the Radio and TV preachers aren’t taking their messages from the same “Devotional” readings every week. Still, we know that as the Bible states:

    2 Corinthians 13:1
    This is the third time I am coming to you. In the mouth of two or three witnesses shall every word be established.

    Bless You
    paul

Leave a Reply

