America: One Nation Under God’s Wrath

Every once in a while I come across one of those podcasts that wakes me up, and not in a good way. I think what rattled me most about this particular program — here’s the link to part II — was that the speaker said some things that I believe God has also put in my mind over time, but for one reason or another, have been afraid to voice. Well, no more!

Self-portrait

Dr. John MacArthur

While I view myself as nobody special — I am certainly am not a speaker, author or pastor of the caliber of John MacArthur, I realize that I don’t have to be. God sovereignly created John MacArthur with great gifts and talents, and he likewise created me, with a different set of gifts and talents. I am not John MacArthur and he is not me.

“While it may seem that God has given America “over to a depraved mind” as Paul warned in Romans 1:28, it’s not too late to turn back to Him. Dr. John MacArthur will share the biblical hope that God will bless us if we listen to Him and follow His ways. It’s a timely message for the National Day of Prayer”

~ Intro to Part 2 of Dr. MacArthur’s message on Dr. Dobson’s Family Talk

While we as patriotic Americans like to point to our founding as a nation under God, the truth of the matter is that we have moved far from those principles. We are now suffering through the results of our poor decisions.

The two-day series on Dr. Dobson’s Family Talk radio program is titled: “A Nation Abandoned By God.” It’s not talking about Israel… it’s talking about America.

MacArthur articulates quite well the reasons America has been abandoned by the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, and the abhorrent results of our decision to thumb our nose at the One who created heaven and earth.

As a student of culture and a follower of Jesus Christ, I can’t help but agree with MacArthur’s assessment that America today is living and operating within the example covered by the Apostle Paul in Romans 1:18-32.

Three times in this segment of holy scriptures Paul states that “God abandoned them” to various shameful and depraved acts. If you’re honest with yourself, then you can’t help but see where American culture today is nothing but the things the Apostle Paul describes. Let’s take a quick look:

  • Suppressing God’s truth
  • Foolish ideas of who God is
  • The religion of environmentalism (worshipping the creature rather than the Creator)
  • Homosexuality
  • Wickedness
  • Sin
  • Greed
  • Hate
  • Envy
  • Murder
  • Quarreling
  • Deception
  • Malicious behavior
  • Gossip
  • Backstabbers
  • Haters of God
  • Insolent
  • Proud
  • Boastful
  • Invent new ways of sinning
  • Children disobeying parents

That’s quite a list! Read it for yourself from Romans 1.

I won’t repeat Dr. MacArthur’s message; you can listen to it for yourself. In fact, I encourage you to listen to it and share it with others. Use it as a conversation piece with friends, in Sunday School, in church and wherever else you happen to meet with people.

The point is simply that America can’t but be under God’s wrath for the choices we’ve made, and it has absolutely nothing to do with how we were founded — in fact, it has everything to do with how we’ve departed from some of the founding principles that David Barton of WallBuilders so eloquently talks about.

The good news, as Dr. MacArthur puts it, is that we have examples from the Old Testament of how we can regain God’s favor.

Look at Psalm 81:11-16 for instance (Emphasis added)

11“But no, my people wouldn’t listen.
Israel did not want me around.
12So I let them follow their own stubborn desires,
living according to their own ideas.
13Oh, that my people would listen to me!
Oh, that Israel would follow me, walking in my paths!
14How quickly I would then subdue their enemies!
How soon my hands would be upon their foes!
15Those who hate the Lord would cringe before him;
they would be doomed forever.
16But I would feed you with the finest wheat.
I would satisfy you with wild honey from the rock.”
While this passage directly applies to Israel — God’s CHOSEN people — Dr. MacArthur says that we can claim the promise of blessing contained in verses 13-16. This can happen only if we follow completely what we read earlier in the Old Testament:
“Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.”
~God’s response to King Solomon, recorded in II Chronicles 7:14
There is no other way!
7 thoughts on “America: One Nation Under God’s Wrath

  1. America, one of the most Christian countries, apparently isn’t religious enough. There’s just no pleasing some people. By the way half your list is about fairly petty complainants

    • I’m not talking about religion. Did you know that Christianity is growing faster in China and Africa than it is in the United States? We’ve become so prosperous in our own minds that we’ve decided that we don’t need God anymore.

      • Pretty much.
        Could it be that we’re not a persecuted church here in America, like some of the other churches around the world? I’m just asking.

      • Three quarters of American are Christian. The reason Christianity isn’t growing so fast is because they’ve reached a maximum and run out of new people to convert. Whereas in China hardly anyone is Christian so there plenty of space for growth. Your claims are not supported by evidence

      • I’ve seen the poll numbers that suggest people in America claim to be Christian. I guess my question then is: what is the evidence for their claim? I can claim to be a brain surgeon, but if I’m unable to diagnose and fix disease where is my proof?
        The book of James says that good thoughts and claims are not enough. “Faith by itself doesn’t produce good deeds. It is dead and useless… How can you show me your faith without good deeds? I will show you my faith by my good deeds.” (James 2:17-18)
        How can a follower of Jesus Christ claim to be different if he looks, smells and acts like everyone else around him?
        You say we’ve reached saturation here. We certainly have a smaller population than does Africa or China, but there are plenty of examples in the Bible where population size didn’t matter when it came to growing the early church or making a difference for God.

Leave a Reply

