Life is meant to be a verb: live it!

Smiles for everyone! free for use My photos th...

Photo by D Sharon Pruitt, creative commons.

Have you ever had one of those moments where things seemed to build into a near-crescendo in a life-changing sort of way?

I think I’m in the midst of one of those moments in time.

Driving truck isn’t one of those things that I dreamed of doing as a kid. It’s certainly not one of those things I relish or want to do the rest of my life. It’s a job — that’s all. Nevertheless, it’s one of those jobs that gives me plenty of time to think (or “over-think” as I’ve been accused of). It also gives me ample time to listen to the radio.

While I enjoy music (my iPod has over 12 GB of it!), and I need my daily fix of talk radio, what I really look forward to is the mid-morning show on KLOVE radio with Amanda Carroll. If ever there was an example of authenticity as a human being, she’s it.

Her blog on the KLOVE radio website is chock full of the little examples in life that, when added up, has caused me to consider a shift in life’s course.

The big shift in life’s journey occurred, for me, back in the 1980s when Jesus Christ issued a course correction in my life.

❦❦❦

I like to play solitaire. With the advent of the iPhone I don’t have to carry a deck of cards with me… I simply open the app and voilá!

One of the things I’ve learned through solitaire is that one card can determine winning or losing. I discovered this through the “back” button (yes, that’s technically “cheating,” but hey, they put it there to be used, right?!)

While my pastor might argue that life is not a game of solitaire, where winning and losing rests on the move of one card, it’s taught me nevertheless that decisions have consequences and if I want life’s journey to be exciting and positive, then decisions have consequences.

❦❦❦

Carroll likes to share tidbits of stuff throughout the day that I find encouraging and challenging. Reading through her blog and listening to the things she shares on the air (the two seem to go hand-in-hand), it hit me like a wave of water the other day that we have a choice: we can pursue happiness or wallow in self-pity. I choose happiness!

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their creator with certain inalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” ~ Declaration of Independence

The Bible too is filled with the message that God likewise desires our happiness, though He doesn’t guarantee it. Jesus, in fact, pretty much guarantees the opposite for those of us who choose to follow Him, yet, the alternative is much worse.

Even so, God’s Word is replete with messages like this: “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11 NLT) and “You fathers—if your children ask for a fish, do you give them a snake instead? Or if they ask for an egg, do you give them a scorpion? Of course not! So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him.” (Luke 11:11-13 NLT)

So, the challenge has been laid down — the torch lit. I’ve been encouraged to actively pursue that which I cannot have by merely sitting or doing what I’ve been doing. Einstein defines that as “insanity.”

One thought on “Life is meant to be a verb: live it!

Leave a Reply

